Helensburgh Amateur Swimming Club held their Annual prize giving at the weekend to round off a year in which the club saw may swimmers returning record breaking performances at local level and achieving fantastic results at regional, National and British level. The club were honoured to host local swimmer and Scottish record holder Eve Thompson who presented this year’s winners with various trophies, medals and certificates.

A total of 64 trophies & shields some dating back to the clubs first year, 1891, were awarded to winners of the individual age group and open events held across the year in all strokes.

There were also the arguably most important Age group Champions trophies. The winners were 7 years and under – Iona McGarry and Lance McMahon. 8 & 9 years: Girls: Gold , Alice Cumming, Silver, Freya MacFarlane and Bronze, Abey Hennessey. Boys, Gold, Edward Peace, Silver Fergus McEwan and Bronze Liam MaKenzie. 10 & 11 year: Girls, Gold, Roisin Kavanagh, Silver Molly Ferguson, Bronze, Rhianna MacFarlane. Boys, Mikey Miller, silver Harris MacLean, bronze Joseph Aylward. 12&13 years Girls, Gold Caitriona Stewart, Silver Kirsty Trail and bronze, Louisa Brown. Boys: Gold, William Peace, Silver, Michael Payne, bronze Sandy Barbour. 14 & 15 years –Girls; Gold, Emily Miller, Silver Eva Greig, Bronze, Jasmine Mansfield. Boys; Gold Alex Johnson, silver, Ryan Thomson, bronze Monty Jamieson . 16 years and over Girls; Gold Charlotte Caskie, silver Georgina Jennings–Maun. Boys Gold Jake Miller, Silver, Robert Humphries.

The much coveted merit trophies were awarded as follows: Poolside Helpers Trophy, awarded to the poolside helper voted for by the swimmers, this year’s winner was Simon Kershaw. The Coaches Quaich, is awarded to the swimmer who has demonstrated commitment to the club, sets a good example for younger swimmers to follow and has demonstrated true sportsmanship when representing the club. This year’s winner was Alex Johnson. The Girls and Boys Endeavour Trophies are awarded to the 2 swimmers who had not won a major trophy but who had trained and performed strongly all year. This year’s winners were Louisa Brown and Sandy Barbour.  Lastly the Centenary Cup is awarded to the swimmer who has performed exceptionally well throughout the year. This year’s winner was Caitriona Stewart.

New club captains were also appointed; Alice Cumming and Fergus McEwan became the club’s mini captains with Charlotte Caskie and Alex Johnson being appointed senior captains.

Over the last 12 months 27 club records were broken. Certificates commemorating the achievement of the record breakers were awarded to: Iona McGarry, 2 records Roisin Kavanagh, 5 records, Caitriona Stewart, 9 records and Alex Johnson, 11 records.

If you are interested in joining the swimming club please visit the “contact us” page on our website: helensburghasc.co.uk.


New junior captains Alice Cumming and Fergus McEwan


Some of the age group winners
In the News… Helensburgh Amateur Swimming Club Annual Prize Giving